Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority Virtually Celebrates 74 Years in Service at Annual General Meeting

The Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority (GRCA) held their 74th Annual General Meeting via Zoom on Thursday, February 18th. Jeff Lees with the Municipality of Port Hope was re-elected as Chair of your local Conservation Authority; while Mark Lovshin with Hamilton Township will remain the Vice Chair. The election was officiated by Mr. Glenn Tozer of Lynch Rutherford Tozer, Chartered Accountants.

The meeting began with Chair Jeff Lee’s thanking everyone for their continued dedication through a year full of ups and downs. He then presented the 2020 Annual Report, highlighting some of the many program and service that are offered across the Ganaraska Watershed; while emphasizing on the GRCA being a leader in the field.

Linda Laliberte, CAO/Secretary-Treasurer then presented a summary of the Authority’s finances and took the opportunity to extend gratitude to the board members and staff for the exceptional year of hard work through complicated times.

The meeting then continued into 2021 business, including elections and appointments for a successful year ahead.

Moving into the 75th year serving the Ganaraska watershed, the GRCA remains dedicated to the environment and ‘Clean water, healthy land for healthy communities’.

2021 Board of Directors also includes Nicole Beatty and Brian Darling, Town of Cobourg; Tim Belch, Township of Cavan Monaghan; Greg Booth, Township of Alnwick/Haldimand; Vicki Mink, Municipality of Port Hope; Joe Neal and Margaret Zwart, Municipality of Clarington; and Tracy Richardson, City of Kawartha Lakes. For more information about the Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority, please call 905. 885.8173.