GRCA Elects New Full Authority Board Chair and Vice Chair

The Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority (GRCA) held their 71st Annual General Meeting in Port Hope on Thursday, February 15th. Wendy Partner, Councillor Ward 4 for The Municipality of Clarington was elected as Chair of the Conservation Authority. As well, Jeff Lees Chair of Parks, Recreation and Culture Committee with The Municipality of Port Hope was elected to Vice Chair. The election was officiated by Mr. Glen Tozer of Lynch Rutherford Tozer, Chartered Accountants.

The meeting began with Chair Forrest Rowden’s introduction of all board members and staff, followed by appreciation for a hard worked and successful year. Programs and services highlights from the past year were then spoken about, a major point being the successful completion of the Ganaraska Forest Management Plan.

Linda Laliberte, CAO/Secretary-Treasurer then presented a summary of the Authority’s finances and took the opportunity to thank Full Authority Board Members and staff of the GRCA for a year well done and their continued support. Service awards were later presented to George Elgear, General Superintendant, 40 years with the Authority; Amy Griffiths, Marketing and Communications Officer, and Joanne May, Planning and Regulations Administrative Assistant, with 10 years; and Cody Brown, GIS Technician, Jessica Mueller, Watershed Hyrdogeologist, and Julie Verge, Corporate Services Assistant, with 5 years respectively at the GRCA.

The Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority’s vision is ‘clean water healthy land for healthy communities’. Their mission is to enhance and conserve across the Ganaraska Region Watershed by serving, educating, informing and engaging. Full Authority members include Forrest Rowden, Town of Cobourg; Wendy Partner, Municipality of Clarington; Brian Darling, Town of Cobourg; Heather Stauble, City of Kawartha Lakes; Jeff Lees, Municipality of Port Hope; John Fallis, Township of Cavan Monaghan; Louise Ferrie-Blecher, Municipality of Port Hope; Mark Lovshin, Township of Hamilton; Ray Benns, Township of Alnwick/Haldimand; and Willie Woo, Municipality of Clarington. For more information about the Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority, please call (905) 885-8173.